What inspired you to be a poet?

I have always been inspired by the creative writing of others, by the magical worlds they create and the emotions these stir inside me. From a young age, I wanted to emulate these writers. I wanted to move people in the same way.

Gradually, though, I discovered that I need to be creative to live and grow as a human. I am now a poet because that is what I am. I have no choice. Writing poetry teaches me so much about myself, other people and the connections between us.

What was your experience like at the Australian Poetry Slam?

I have been fortunate enough to compete in two Australian Poetry Slam national finals. Both times, I met with and was inspired by powerful spoken word artists from around Australia. Just being in the audience and hearing these poets perform was unforgettable.

More than this, though, I got to perform too. Being on the Sydney Theatre stage in front of hundreds of captivated audience members is a heart-lifting experience. And to have them applaud my performances was an incredible affirmation of my work.

How have things changed for you since winning the slam?

The Australian Poetry Slam gave me the opportunity to further develop my work and perform it in front of a wider audience. I was able to create longer pieces and perform these at international writers’ festivals.

I also met a wide range of writers, poets, organisers and artists. Through these links I have been able to collaborate, create events and perform more.

Slam is one part of spoken word, but participating in the Australian Poetry Slam gave me the chance to expand into a wider engagement with spoken word, poetry and performance.

What advice would you give to up and coming Australian Poetry Slam contestants?

Tell your story, what is important to you, what moves you. Practice as often as you can and perform at every chance you get. Watch as many performances as you can. Live is best, but YouTube is also useful. Finally, read, as much and as often as you can.

What are the best ways to beat those stage nerves?

I still get nervous before every performance, regardless of how large or small the audience. The things that help me manage nerves are preparation and experience. I rehearse thoroughly before a performance so that I know my work. I also perform at every opportunity I get. This gives me the experience to know that, once I get started, I will be able to confidently deliver my lines. My recommendation, then, is to practice as much as possible, both in private and before an audience. Over time, this will help with nerves.

Thanks CJ

 

CJPhoto By: Adam Thomas